Skip to product information
1 of 1

Macaloney Distillers

Kirkinriola - Red Wine

Kirkinriola - Red Wine

Regular price $94.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $94.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Kirkinriola: Portuguese Re-Charred Red Wine Barrique

This island whisky is from our triple distilled single potstill range – triple distilled using only the best unmalted and malted barley available. The patient, yet purposeful, triple distillation produces a complex, layered and balanced new-make spirit. Dr. Swan described our original new-make which trickles off our copper pot stills as “the best that I have tasted in any distillery at this stage, super fruity.” This triple-distillate is even smoother and fruitier!


This single cask series, Kirkinriola (pronounced ‘kirk-in-riola’), is our connoisseurs / collector’s single-cask edition. Like the passionate, spirited Ulster-Scots, it is an ever-changing series of triple-distilled potstill expressions based on unique one-off single casks, or other special selections. With individually numbered bottles, it is sought after by those who appreciate fine whisky.


This particular Kirkinriola special release single cask comes from a select Portuguese recharred red wine barrique imported from Europe. This barrique underwent the Dr. Jim Swan shave-toast-rechar (STR) preparation and gives a wonderfully complex nose with apricot, papaya, pears, honey, oats, and sherried fruit cake. The palate is creamy and full bodied with cereal and a symphony of floral and fruit notes including roses, honey, nectarine, papaya, apricot, apples & candied orange. Layered into this are red wine, blackcurrant, wood spices and a lingering oak finish with a hint of sea breeze befitting an island distillery. Enjoy!


92 Proof

Natural Colour & Non-Chill Filtered

Please read before buying

Due to federal alcohol regulations, we must leverage a third-party partner for fulfillment. Delivery times are 7-12 business days from when your order is placed.

We cannot ship to Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Hawaii, Iowa, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming.

View full details